Author Topic: New desktop build  (Read 5348 times)

Tradgedy12

• SotW Member
  • Level 17
  • Remember the dead - but fight for the living.
    • View Profile
New desktop build
« on: July 28, 2013, 05:29:25 AM »
Finally out of school and making money, finally time to be profoundly irresponsible with my money :D

Here's what I'm looking at:

CPU: Core i7-4470K
GPU: EVGA GTX 760
Mobo: ASUS Sabertooth Z87
RAM: G. Skill 16GB (4x4GB)
SSD: ADATA 256GB
HDD: Seagate 1TB
PSU: Cooler Master 1000W modular
Case: Cooler Master HAF 932

I'm also thinking about getting water cooling to cut down on noise, although I've never done it before and I understand it's kind of a headache to get it figured out.
Anyone have any thoughts? I haven't been keeping up with hardware at all, so I could use all the help I can get :)
/* Do... or do not. There is no try-catch. */

Miszou

• SotW Member
  • Level 16
  • Eccentric English Gentleman
    • View Profile
Re: New desktop build
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2013, 05:56:35 AM »
Rather than get a full SSD and a mechanical drive, you might want to consider getting the Sandisk ReadyCache instead.

It basically adds a 32GB cache to your drive(s) and the speed boost is incredible.

It learns what programs you frequently use and keeps them in cache, so most of the time you get comparable performance to a full SSD, but at a fraction of the cost. I have one in my desktop and it boots (after BIOS) in about 10 seconds, and the system is useable immediately after logging in - just like an SSD.

And I know this won't be a popular viewpoint, but imho, an i7 is overkill for most games. The only difference between an i5 and an i7 is that the i7 has hyperthreading, which is only beneficial in very specific (and rare) circumstances. In fact, you may find that certain games run better if you disable hyperthreading in the BIOS - and if that's the case, you might as well have saved some cash, bought an i5 and overclocked it.